Sun is the chief source of energy for the entire universe. There are five fires and seven electric centres in it. In our body also there are five fire glands and seven vital energy centres, which are activated along with the vital nadis connected with them by the 12 postures of Surya Namaskar. There are twelve mantras corresponding to 12 postures of Surya Namaskar. Pran (the vital energy) is proportionately distrubuted in all parts of body with the help of the above said postures. Constant and lon time practice of the different postures of Surya Namsakar are ultimately instrumental in vitalising and developing the different centres of energy in our body.

Surya Namaskar makes the bodies of young practicants, comely, active and lustrous; although it is useful for every person of any age.

Perform the first practice of Surya Namaskar by invoking the Sun-God and concentrating on Agya-Chakra. It is located at the space between the two eyebrows where we put the sacred mark, about 1/2 inches at the back of it. It is from Agya Chakra that commands to the different organs of the body are issued.

In the second posture of Surya Namaskar Vishudhi Chakra (behind the throat in the spine) is activated. As a result one gets control over the element of Aksha i.e. either. Not only we are capable of holding our breath in the lungs but also our Pran (vital energy) is toned up.

The cervical portion in the spine becomes elastic and free disorders.

In the third posture of Surya Namaskar the Manipur Chakra (behind the naval in the spine) is activated as a result of which our digestive system is set right. The sciatica nerve of the feet is restored to its normal position.

As the forehead is bent to touch the knees, the lumber portion of the spine becomes more healthy and elastic.

In the fifth pose of Surya Namaskar, the heels are pressed on the ground. As a result our calves are activated and their flaws and defects are set right. Similarly when the chin is pressed into the cavity of the throat, in this pose our thyroid glands are influenced. As a result of which harmones get mixed into blood in a natural way. Besides due to its impact on Sahasara Chakra (located in the centre of our crown) we experience the feeling of bliss.

In the sixth pose of Surya Namaskar, eight organs of the body are placed upon the ground. Egoism is lessened; humility increases and the heart is strengthened. It is also helpful in the development of our emotional sensibility, lungs, ankles, forefeet, arms and wrists-all these parts are duly exercised. Intestines and digestive organs are also activated.

In the seventh pose of Surya Namaskar. Mooladhar Chakra, a little above the last end of the spine is activated. This pose removes all the disorder of our generative organ, recturn and feet. This also strengthens Apan and Pran and the waste matter is completely exreted by the bowels, due to its impact on the palms, not only out hands become strong but the nerve ending centres inside the palms are so well pressed that all the parts of our body are toned up.

In the Eighth pose of Surya Namaskar benefits similar to those in the fifth position accrue.

In the Nineth posture of Surya Namaskar the benefits derived are similar to those we derive from the 4th pose.

The benefits of the Tenth posture and those of third pose are similar.

In the Eleventh posture the advantages are the same as those of the second pose.

The benefits of the Twelfth pose of Surya Namaskar and those of the first pose are the same.


Stand erect on asan leaving two third of its space behind and one third in front. Keep the heels joined & frontfeet apart. Both hands should remain in close contact with either side of the body. Breathing should be normal and the body absolutely erect.

First Pose

Joining hehands together, bring them in front of the chest in the posture of Namaskar (folded hands) placing roots of the thumbs on the cavity of heart, thumbs and fingers close to each other and bent forward a little, Arms, wrists to elbows shall be parallel to the ground, shoulders tension free and eye gently closed. Invoke the sun as a friend, concentrating mind on Agya-Chakra. Thereafter, recite the Mantra Om Mitraya Namah.

Second Pose

While inhaling the breadth stretch hands up towards the sky Arms should remain straight close to the ears. The distance between the hands should be as wide as shoulders. Bend back the hands, heck and body. Concentrate on Vishudhi Chakra which is located on the spine behind the throat. The lumber portion of the body should remain in its natural position. No need to bend it by force.

Third Pose

Now bring the arms forward from the front and bend your body down while exhaling breadth and keeping the arms close to the ears. Concentrate on Manipur Chakra (on the spine behind the root of the naval). While bending go on stretching the arms towards the ground and place them on the left and the right side of the feet, the should remain straight. Please note that the knees should not bend in any case in doing this asan.

Fourth Pose

Inhaling take the right leg backward with the sole in vertical position keeping the waist downwards, chest stretched for ward, bend the neck as the back ward as possible. Here the point of concentration is Swadhishthan Chakra, located within the  Sushumna Nadi behind the root of the reproductory organ.

Fifth Pose

While exhaling the breadth, take the left leg also to the position of the left leg, close the heels and place them on the ground. Raise the hips upward to the maximum. Touch the chin with the root of the throat. Take the body as far back as possible Here the pont of concentration is Sahasrara Chakra, situated in the crown of the head.

Sixth Pose

Inhaling, bring the body parallel to the ground. First place the knees on the ground, then the chest and thereafter the forehead. Stomach should be slightly raised from the ground.

Make the breath normal. Concentrate on Anahat Chakra which is situated in the Sushumna Nadi in the spine opposite to the heart and which corresponds to the cardiac plexus in the physical body.

One important point to be kept in mind here is that the palms and forefingers should not be made to move forward or backward from the places where they are once fixed.

Seventh pose

Raise in body, move it forward and inhaling keep your elbow straight, the chest fully stretched forward and the neck bent backard as far as possible. In this pose the knees will remain fully on the ground and the forefeet fingers in a vertical position.

Eight Pose – will be the same as fifth pose.

Ninth Pose – will be the same as the 4th pose

Tenth Pose – will be the same as the 3rd pose

Eleventh Pose – will be the same as the 2nd pose

Twelfth Pose – will be the same as the first pose.

Exhaling, bring the hands in Namaskar (folded) position and then bring them down.

This is the first round of Surya Namaskar. In the second round the left leg will go backward instead of the right. The remaining postures will remain the same. In the subsequent rounds of Surya Namaskar, the sequence of reciting the Mantras will be as under :

  1. On Mitray Namah
  2. Om Ravage Namah
  3. Om Suryaya Namah
  4. Om Bhanve Namah
  5. Om Khagava Namah
  6. Om Pushne Namah
  7. Om Hinrany Garbhaya Namah
  8. Om Mareechaye Namah
  9. Om Adityaya Namah
  10. Om Savitre Namah
  11. Om Arkaya Namah
  12. Om Bhaskaraya Namah

After performing Surya Namaskar, lie down in Shavasan at least for 2 minutes. The technique of this Asan is given

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>